Lawyer Not Available


Although the origin of the name “Malta” is not clearly known, many Historians believe that it is a derivative of the Greek word “Meli”, which means “Honey”.

Purportedly, the ancient Greeks used this term, because Malta was the ideal place for production of honey. In fact, many species of bees still buzz around Maltese Islands.

The Republic of Malta is an Archipelago (Cluster of Islands) located about 80 Kilometers (50 Miles) South of Italy. The country’s landmass is just over 316 Square Kilometers (122 Square Miles); and its population is about 450,000, which makes it one of the world's smallest nations.

Regardless of the size, today, Malta is a popular destination for numerous people, who are attracted to its Pleasant Mediterranean Climate, Abundant Recreational Activities, Architectural and Historical sites.



Valletta, which is also known as “Il-Belt,” meaning "The City" in Maltese Language, is the Capital of Malta. This historical marvel of a city has a population of only 6,500 residents. However, the Greater Metropolitan Valletta has an estimated population of about 395,000.
In 1980, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), recognized the Entire City of Valletta as a World Heritage Site. And Valletta is selected as the European Capital of Culture for 2018. 


It is believed that the earliest immigrants to the Islands of Malta came from Sicily, around 5200 B.C. Moreover, Malta’s strategic location has attracted unprecedented number of people throughout history. Ancient civilizations such as Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, and modern Colonial Powers such a French and British have all left their marks on the Maltese Terrain and Culture.

Malta became independent on September 21, 1964; which is widely celebrated as the Independence Day.


Malta offers Two Comprehensive Investment Visa Programs. One is for Permanent Residency Status and one for Citizenship.
To obtain the Maltese Permanent Residency Status, a Qualified Applicant must invest €250,000 or more in Maltese Government Bonds for a period of at least 5 years.
In addition, the investor must make a €30,000 contribution to the State Fund of Malta and purchase or rent a qualified residence on the island, and so on.

On the other hand, the Malta Citizenship Investment Program requires a minimum contribution of €650,000 to the Maltese Government’s National Development Fund. In addition, the Investor Immigrant must invest a minimum of €150,000 in designated investments for at least 5 years; and purchase a Residential Property valued at a minimum of €350,000, and so on

Of course, Malta’s Investment Immigration Programs are designed for High-Net-Worth individuals. In fact, Malta has created a program for such Investor Immigrants, which is referred to as Malta Global Residence Program (MGRP).

As briefly mentioned above, there are many viable reasons, why so many High-Net-Worth individuals are attracted to Maltese Citizenship. This Program is much more than just an investor visa: it offers prospective investors full EU Citizenship as opposed to just a Residency Status.

EU freedom of movement treaties permit Maltese citizens to live, work, and study in any other European Union country, including Switzerland. This means that people with Maltese Passports are allowed to move to Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom (UK).

Malta has been a member of the Schengen Area of Europe, since 2007. This allows a Maltese citizen to travel to 26 European countries without going through any border control; as well as the four European Free Trade Association (EFTA) members of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Maltese Laws do not require residency in Malta. In fact, Maltese Citizens can retain a “Non-Domiciliary” status, even, if they live in Malta. This important flexibility allows Maltese Citizens to pay tax only on any income, they earn in Malta and not Worldwide; as many other countries mandate. Moreover, Malta does not have any municipal taxes, estate and/or inheritance taxes. 

Maltese Laws allow Dual Citizenship. Therefore, individuals obtaining a second citizenship by investment in Malta are not required to renounce their existing citizenship.

As a Maltese Citizen, one can travel to more than 160 countries, VISA FREE! And an Electronic Authorization can be obtained for Australia, Canada, Gabon, Guam, India, Kenya, Myanmar, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Sri Lanka, Turkey, U.S. Virgin Islands, United States

As a Maltese Citizen, one can travel to more than 160 countries, VISA FREE! And an Electronic Authorization can be obtained for Australia, Canada, Gabon, Guam, India, Kenya, Myanmar, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Sri Lanka, Turkey, U.S. Virgin Islands, United States

In order to apply for Malta Golden Visa, the main Applicant must:

  • Be18 years or older;
  • Meet the stipulated requirements;
  • Have no criminal record;
  • Have sufficient net-worth, and so on;

The applicant’s dependent family members can be included in his or her citizenship application process at set fees. Qualified family members could include the applicant’s spouse, their children under 18; and unmarried dependent children up to age 26; dependent parents or grandparents of both the main applicant and spouse.

The above is just a general and brief overview of Maltese Golden Visa Programs. For more information about Maltese Residency and/or Citizenship, please click HERE . You can have a LIVE CHAT with a Highly Experienced, Ethical and Compassionate Chosen Malta Immigration Lawyer, right away. Your initial Case Evaluation is FREE! And your communication is Private and Confidential.